Arts & Letters Faculty

Henry Alley

Henry Alley

Professor Emeritus of Literature

halley@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2513 | 114 McArthur Court

ACADEMIC AREAS: Contemporary American Fiction, Short Stories, George Eliot, Jane Austen, The Novel, Gay Men's Literature


Monique Balbuena

Monique R. Balbuena

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Jewish Studies

balbuena@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2311 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #117

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Sephardic Languages, Ladino, Comparative Literature, Construction of Identity Through Language


Corinne Bayerl

Corinne Bayerl

Instructor of French, German and Comparative Literature

bayerl@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4058 | 412 Friendly Hall

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Fri 1 - 3pm @ GSH Fresh Market Café & by appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: 16th to early 18th century literature, philosophy, and religion in France and Germany; Gender questions; History of pedagogy


Louise Bishop

Louise Bishop

Associate Professor of Literature

lmbishop@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0733

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Medieval Literature, especially Middle English literature; Medievalism


Elizabeth Bohls

Elizabeth Bohls

Professor of English and Director of Graduate Studies

ebohls@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5484 | 527 Prince Lucien Campbell Hall

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment


Mai-Lin Cheng

Mai-Lin Cheng

Assistant Professor of Literature

cheng@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0123 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #111

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Wed 1 - 4pm @ Mac Court 113, Thurs 3:30 - 4:30 @ Mac Court 114

ACADEMIC AREAS: Poetry and Prose of the British Romantic Period, Travel Writing, Gender and Genre, Composition


Suzanne Clark

Suzanne Clark

Professor Emerita of English and Comparative Literature

sclark@uoregon.edu

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Modernist Literature, Culture and Film, Rhetoric, Social Movements and Gender Roles, Literature, Film, and Environment


David Frank

David Frank

Professor of Rhetoric

dfrank@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4198 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #107

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Argumentation, International Ethics, Rhetorical Theory and History


Sander Goldberg

Sander Goldberg

Professor of Practice in Literature

sanderg@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8731 | 113 Mac Court

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ancient Drama, Epic, and Rhetoric


Nathalie Hester

Associate Professor of Italian and French

nhester@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4058 | 430 Friendly Hall

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Wed 10am - 12pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Renaissance and Baroque Literature, Travel Literature, Early Modern French and Italian Historiography, Early Modern Italian Convent Culture, Feminist Theory, Seventeenth-Century Women’s Writing


Susanna Lim

Susanna Lim

Associate Professor of Literature

susannal@uoregon.edu | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #101

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Russian Literature, History, and Culture; Russian-Asian Cultural Interaction; Korean Studies


Rebecca Lindner

Rebecca Lindner

Assistant Dean & Instructor of Literature

rlindner@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2484 | 28 McArthur Court

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 10am - 12pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Renaissance Literature, Shakespeare, Women’s Writing, Science and Culture, Adaptation Studies, Urban Humanities


Barbara Mossberg

Barbara Mossberg

Professor of Practice in Literature

bmossber@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8752 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #109

Spring 2017 Office Hours:By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Poetry, Leadership, Drama, Humanities Advocacy, Chaos Theory, Deep Ecology, Eco Lit and Cultural History, American/British Postcolonial and Transatlantic Literature, Women’s Literature, American Studies, Creativity Across Disciplines


John Nicols

John Nicols

Professor Emeritus of History and Classics, Alexander von Humboldt Fellow and visiting professor at the universities of Munich and of Münster, 2016-17

nic@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4817 | 366 McKenzie Hall

Fall 2017 Office Hours: Professor Nicols is working in Germany and can be reached via email.

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ancient History; Roman Law; Symmetrical and Asymmetrical Social Relations [e.g., patronage,  hospitium]; Cities and Civic Culture


Elizabeth Raisanen

Elizabeth Raisanen

Director of Undergraduate Advising and Instructor of Literature

raisanen@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4437 | 104A Mac Court

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Mon 1 - 4pm, Tues 10am - 12pm, Thurs 1 - 4pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Women Writers of the British Romantic Period, Romantic Drama, Digital Humanities


Steven Shankman

Steven Shankman

Distinguished Professor of Classics and UNESCO Chair in Transcultural Studies, Interreligious Dialogue, and Peace

shankman@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3997 | 110B Gerlinger Hall

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Mon 3 - 5pm & by appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Comparative Literature, The Classical Tradition in English and American Literature, The Eighteenth Century, History of Literary Theory


Casey Shoop

Casey Shoop

Post-Doctoral Teaching Fellow in Literature

cshoop@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8840 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #108

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 1:30 – 3:30pm @ Mac 113

ACADEMIC AREAS: 19th and 20th Century American Literature; Critical Theory; Urban Theory; Literature and Culture of California; Film Studies


Helen Southworth

Helen Southworth

Associate Professor of Literature

helen@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2642 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #103

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tues 12 - 2pm & by appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Modernism, Virginia Woolf, Digital Humanities, Life Writing, Book History, Print Culture, Contemporary Writing, French and English Comparative Literature


Analisa Taylor

Analisa Taylor

Associate Professor of Spanish

analisa@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4047 | 326 Friendly Hall

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Mon 2 - 4pm & by appointment (There is no elevator in "Friendly" so please let me know if I should arrange for us to meet in a more accessible location.)

ACADEMIC AREAS: Arts, Cultures, and Social Movements in USA and Latin America; Mexico and Contemporary Mesoamerican Diaspora; Ethnicity, Identity, and Social Movements; Literary Translation and Intercultural Communication


John Witte

John Witte

Senior Instructor II Emeritus of English

jwitte@uoregon.edu

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Poetry, Ecopoetry, Works in Translation, Literature of the Northwest