Arts & Letters Faculty

Henry Alley

Henry Alley

Professor Emeritus of Literature

halley@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2513 | 114 McArthur Court

Winter 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Contemporary American Fiction, Short Stories, George Eliot, Jane Austen, The Novel, Gay Men's Literature


Monique Balbuena

Monique R. Balbuena

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Jewish Studies

balbuena@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2311 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #117

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Tues 11:30am - 12pm @ Mac 113, Wed 1 - 3pm @ Café Marché, Thurs 11:30am - 12pm & 3:30 - 4:30pm @ Mac 113

ACADEMIC AREAS: Sephardic Languages, Ladino, Comparative Literature, Construction of Identity Through Language


Corinne Bayerl

Corinne Bayerl

Instructor of French, German and Comparative Literature

bayerl@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4058 | 412 Friendly Hall

Winter 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: 16th to early 18th century literature, philosophy, and religion in France and Germany; Gender questions; History of pedagogy


Louise Bishop

Louise Bishop

Associate Professor of Literature

lmbishop@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0733 | 28 McArthur Court

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Mon & Wed 1 - 3pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Medieval Literature, especially Middle English literature; Medievalism


Elizabeth Bohls

Elizabeth Bohls

Professor of English and Director of Graduate Studies

ebohls@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5484 | 527 Prince Lucien Campbell Hall

Winter 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment


Mai-Lin Cheng

Mai-Lin Cheng

Assistant Professor of Literature

cheng@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0123 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #111

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Mon 3:30 - 5pm @ GSH Freshmarket Café; Tues (by appointment only) 3:30 - 4:30pm; Thurs 3:30 – 5:00pm @ Mac #114

ACADEMIC AREAS: Poetry and Prose of the British Romantic Period, Travel Writing, Gender and Genre, Composition


Suzanne Clark

Suzanne Clark

Professor Emerita of English and Comparative Literature

sclark@uoregon.edu

Winter 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Modernist Literature, Culture and Film, Rhetoric, Social Movements and Gender Roles, Literature, Film, and Environment


David Frank

David Frank

Professor of Rhetoric

dfrank@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4198 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #107

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Tues & Wed 1 - 3pm @ 219 PLC

ACADEMIC AREAS: Argumentation, International Ethics, Rhetorical Theory and History


Sander Goldberg

Sander Goldberg

Professor of Practice in Literature

sanderg@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8731 | 113 Mac Court

Winter 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ancient Drama, Epic, and Rhetoric


Susanna Lim

Susanna Lim

Associate Professor of Literature

susannal@uoregon.edu | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #101

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 10am - 12pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Russian Literature, History, and Culture; Russian-Asian Cultural Interaction; Korean Studies


Rebecca Lindner

Rebecca Lindner

Assistant Dean & Instructor of Literature

rlindner@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2484 | 108 McArthur Court

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 10am - 12pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Renaissance Literature, Shakespeare, Women’s Writing, Science and Culture, Adaptation Studies, Urban Humanities


Barbara Mossberg

Barbara Mossberg

Professor of Practice in Literature

bmossber@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8752 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #109

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Tues 2 - 3pm @ GSH Library Commons; Wed 1 - 3pm @ Café Marché, Thurs 11:30am - 2:30pm @ 2nd floor Lawrence

ACADEMIC AREAS: Poetry, Leadership, Drama, Humanities Advocacy, Chaos Theory, Deep Ecology, Eco Lit and Cultural History, American/British Postcolonial and Transatlantic Literature, Women’s Literature, American Studies, Creativity Across Disciplines


John Nicols

John Nicols

Professor Emeritus of History and Classics, Alexander von Humboldt Fellow - 2016

nic@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4817 | 301 McKenzie Hall

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Tues 2 - 3pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ancient History; Roman Law; Symmetrical and Asymmetrical Social Relations [e.g., patronage,  hospitium]; Cities and Civic Culture


Elizabeth Raisanen

Elizabeth Raisanen

Director of Undergraduate Advising and Instructor of Literature

raisanen@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4437 | 104A Mac Court

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Mon 1 - 4pm, Tues 10am - 12pm, Thurs 1 - 4pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Women Writers of the British Romantic Period, Romantic Drama, Digital Humanities


Steven Shankman

Steven Shankman

Distinguished Professor of Classics and UNESCO Chair in Transcultural Studies, Interreligious Dialogue, and Peace

shankman@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3997 | 110B Gerlinger Hall

Winter 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Comparative Literature, The Classical Tradition in English and American Literature, The Eighteenth Century, History of Literary Theory


Casey Shoop

Casey Shoop

Post-Doctoral Teaching Fellow in Literature

cshoop@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8840 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #108

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Mon & Wed 11:30am – 1:30pm @ Mac #113

ACADEMIC AREAS: 19th and 20th Century American Literature; Critical Theory; Urban Theory; Literature and Culture of California; Film Studies


Helen Southworth

Helen Southworth

Associate Professor of Literature

helen@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2642 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #103

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Mon 10am - 2pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Modernism, Virginia Woolf, Digital Humanities, Life Writing, Book History, Print Culture, Contemporary Writing, French and English Comparative Literature


John Witte

John Witte

Senior Instructor of English

jwitte@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5935 | 206 Prince Lucien Campbell Hall

Winter 2017 Office Hours: Mon & Wed 2 - 3pm @ Café Roma

ACADEMIC AREAS: Poetry, Ecopoetry, Works in Translation, Literature of the Northwest