Core Faculty

Clark Honors College core faculty members design the honors college curriculum, and teach, advise and mentor students.

Core faculty are not only award-winning teachers, but also active researchers in their fields. Learn more about their fields of study, and opportunities they have for students to get involved, on their profile pages.


Henry Alley

Henry Alley

Professor Emeritus of Literature

halley@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2513 | 114 McArthur Court

ACADEMIC AREAS: Contemporary American Fiction, Short Stories, George Eliot, Jane Austen, The Novel, Gay Men's Literature


Monique Balbuena

Monique R. Balbuena

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Jewish Studies

balbuena@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2311 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #117

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Sephardic Languages, Ladino, Comparative Literature, Construction of Identity Through Language


Louise Bishop

Louise Bishop

Associate Professor of Literature

lmbishop@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0733

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Medieval Literature, especially Middle English literature; Medievalism


Mark Carey

Mark Carey

Professor of History and Environmental Studies

carey@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8077 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #113

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Glaciers, Climate Change, Natural Disasters, Water Governance, Environmental History, History of Science


Mai-Lin Cheng

Mai-Lin Cheng

Assistant Professor of Literature

cheng@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0123 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #111

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Wed 1 - 4pm @ Mac Court 113, Thurs 3:30 - 4:30 @ Mac Court 114

ACADEMIC AREAS: Poetry and Prose of the British Romantic Period, Travel Writing, Gender and Genre, Composition


Joseph Fracchia

Joseph Fracchia

Professor Emeritus of History

fracchia@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2516

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: German Social and Intellectual History, Historical Theory, Philosophy of History, History of Philosophy


David Frank

David Frank

Professor of Rhetoric

dfrank@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4198 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #107

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Argumentation, International Ethics, Rhetorical Theory and History


Sander Goldberg

Sander Goldberg

Professor of Practice in Literature

sanderg@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8731 | 113 Mac Court

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ancient Drama, Epic, and Rhetoric


Melissa Graboyes

Melissa Graboyes

Assistant Professor of African & Medical History

graboyes@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3894 | 370 Prince Lucien Campbell Hall

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Mon 10am - 12pm, Tues 1:30 - 3:30pm & by appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Colonial and Postcolonial African History, Medical History, History of Science, Medical Ethics, Global Health


Samantha Hopkins

Samantha Hopkins

Associate Dean & Associate Professor of Earth Sciences

shopkins@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5976 | 151 Cascade Annex East

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Mon & Wed 2 - 4pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Environmental Change, Mammalian Evolution


Ocean Howell

Ocean Howell

Associate Professor of History and Architectural History

ohowell@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8095

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Wed 10am - 12pm @ Mac 113, and 2 - 4pm @ Mac 103

ACADEMIC AREAS: Urban History & Planning, Design and Architecture, History of Race, Gentrification, Defensive Architecture, Youth Culture


photo of Terry L. Hunt

Terry L. Hunt

Dean, Robert D. Clark Honors College and Professor of Anthropology

tlhunt@uoregon.edu | 101C McArthur Court

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Easter Island, Pacific Islands Prehistory, Human Historical and Evolutionary Ecology


Trond Jacobsen

Trond Jacobsen

Director of Forensics and Instructor of Information Science

trond@uoregon.edu | 541-600-0762 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #104

Spring 2017 Office Hours: TBD

ACADEMIC AREAS: Speech and Debate, Scholarly Communication Networks, Political Communication, Legal Proceedings


Vera Keller

Vera Keller

Associate Professor of History

vkeller@uoregon.edu | 541-346-6903

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Professor Keller is on leave

ACADEMIC AREAS: History of Science


Susanna Lim

Susanna Lim

Associate Professor of Literature

susannal@uoregon.edu | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #101

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Russian Literature, History, and Culture; Russian-Asian Cultural Interaction; Korean Studies


Rebecca Lindner

Rebecca Lindner

Assistant Dean & Instructor of Literature

rlindner@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2484 | 28 McArthur Court

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 10am - 12pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Renaissance Literature, Shakespeare, Women’s Writing, Science and Culture, Adaptation Studies, Urban Humanities


Barbara Mossberg

Barbara Mossberg

Professor of Practice in Literature

bmossber@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8752 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #109

Spring 2017 Office Hours:By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Poetry, Leadership, Drama, Humanities Advocacy, Chaos Theory, Deep Ecology, Eco Lit and Cultural History, American/British Postcolonial and Transatlantic Literature, Women’s Literature, American Studies, Creativity Across Disciplines


Mike Peixoto

Michael Peixoto

Adjunct Instructor of History

mpeixoto@uoregon.edu | 541-972-3337 (voicemail and text only) | 1715 Franklin Blvd, #102

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tues 9 - 11am @ GSH, Wed 3 - 4:45pm @ Falling Sky, Fri 9 - 11am @ GSH

ACADEMIC AREAS: Medieval Europe, France, the Crusades and the Military Orders; Diplomatics (Charters) and Archival Practices; Ecclesiastical Institutions; Social and Economic History


Roxann Prazniak

Roxann Prazniak

Associate Professor of History

prazniak@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3345 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #105

Spring 2017 Office Hours: By Appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: History of China and Eurasia, Emergence of Modernity, Transcultural Studies


Elizabeth Raisanen

Elizabeth Raisanen

Director of Undergraduate Advising and Instructor of Literature

raisanen@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4437 | 104A Mac Court

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Mon 1 - 4pm, Tues 10am - 12pm, Thurs 1 - 4pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Women Writers of the British Romantic Period, Romantic Drama, Digital Humanities


Daniel Rosenberg

Daniel Rosenberg

Professor of History

dbr@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0520 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #115

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Mon 3:30 - 4pm @ GSH Fresh Market Café & by appointment (click for details)

ACADEMIC AREAS: Modern European Intellectual and Cultural History, Enlightenment, History of Information


Casey Shoop

Casey Shoop

Post-Doctoral Teaching Fellow in Literature

cshoop@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8840 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #108

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 1:30 – 3:30pm @ Mac 113

ACADEMIC AREAS: 19th and 20th Century American Literature; Critical Theory; Urban Theory; Literature and Culture of California; Film Studies


Helen Southworth

Helen Southworth

Associate Professor of Literature

helen@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2642 | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #103

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tues 12 - 2pm & by appointment

ACADEMIC AREAS: Modernism, Virginia Woolf, Digital Humanities, Life Writing, Book History, Print Culture, Contemporary Writing, French and English Comparative Literature


Kelly Sutherland

Kelly Sutherland

Assistant Professor of Biology

ksuth@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8783 | 473B Onyx Bridge

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Wed 12 - 4pm

ACADEMIC AREAS: Marine Organism Propulsion and Feeding in the Fluid Environment


Tim Williams

Tim Williams

Visiting Assistant Professor of History

timw@uoregon.edu | 1715 Franklin Blvd. #100

Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tues 3:30 - 5pm @ Mac 113 (by appointment only), Thurs 12pm - 1:45pm @ Mac 114 & 3:30 - 5pm @ Mac 113

ACADEMIC AREAS: Intellectual & Cultural History, 19th Century United States, Gender & Sexuality, the American South