Affiliated Faculty

Affiliated faculty are award-winning teachers and researchers from across the University of Oregon, who apply to teach courses designed specifically for the honors college. These experts bring a breadth of interests and topics to their courses, and provide invaluable learning and mentorship experiences for CHC students.


Peter Alilunas

Peter Alilunas

Associate Professor in the Department of Cinema Studies

pka@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2004 | 105 PLC


A.B. Assensoh

A.B. Assensoh


Klaree Boose

Klaree Boose

Pro Tempore Instructor of Anthropology

boose@uoregon.edu | Condon 273

ACADEMIC AREAS: Primate Socioecology, Socioendocrinology and Behavior, Human Behavior Collective Violence and Policing


Anita Chari

Greg Bothun

Professor of Physics

bigmoo@gmail.com | 541-346-2569 | 417 Willamette Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Properties of Galaxies, Observational Cosmology, Climate Change, Sustainable Energy


Marcel Brousseau

Marcel Brousseau

mbrousse@uoregon.edu

ACADEMIC AREAS: Latinx Literature, Native American Literatures, Latinx Studies, Native American Studies, Latinx Comics, Latinx Policy, Border Literatures, Travel Writing, Narrative and Cartography, Writing Studies, Sports Studies


Anna Carroll

Anna Carroll

Career Instructor

acarroll@uoregon.edu | 541-346-1518 | 301H Tykeson Hall

Office Hours: Fall term: WF 2:00-3:30 p.m.


Ulrick Casimir

Ulrick Casimir

Career Instructor

ucasimir@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3977 | 223 PLC

Spring 2020 Office Hours: (Office hours will be conducted via the Zoom platform)

Thursdays 3:00 - 5:00 PM


David Chamberlain

David Chamberlain

Career Instructor

davidc@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5071 | 367 Susan Campbell Hall


Dayna Chatman

Dayna Chatman

Assistant Professor

dchatman@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3594 | 147 Franklin


Suzanne Clark

Suzanne Clark

Professor Emerita of English and Comparative Literature

sclark@uoregon.edu

ACADEMIC AREAS: Modernist Literature, Culture and Film, Rhetoric, Social Movements and Gender Roles, Literature, Film, and Environment


Amy Connolly

Amy Connolly

Instructor of Biology

amyc@uoregon.edu | 73 Klamath Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Genetics, Cell Biology, Cell Division: Mitosis and Meiosis, Embryo Development, Biochemistry


James Crosswhite

James Crosswhite

Professor

jcross@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3956 | 258 PLC

Office Hours: Fall term: W 12:00-3:00


Kenneth Doxsee

Ken Doxsee

Professor of Chemistry

doxsee@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4628 | 432 Lewis Integrative Sciences Building

Spring 2019 Office Hours: Mondays 3:00 - 5:00 pm in 432 LISB; and Tuesdays 3:00 - 4:00 pm in 209 CHA

ACADEMIC AREAS: Chemistry, Green Chemistry, Sustainability, Chemical Education


A picture of Noah Eber-Schmid

Noah R. Eber-Schmid

Faculty Fellow in Political Science

neschmid@uoregon.edu | 815 PLC

ACADEMIC AREAS: Democratic Theory, Anglo-American Political Thought, Contemporary Political Theory, Extremism, Citizenship, History of Political Thought


Stephen Fickas

Stephen Fickas

Professor of Computer and Information Science

fickas@cs.uoregon.edu | 541-346-3964 | 309 Deschutes Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Data Science, Internet of Things, Software Engineering


Emily Gilkey

Emily Gilkey

Instructor of History

egilkey2@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3727 | 340X McKenzie Hall 

Spring 2020 Office Hours: (Office hours will be conducted via the Canvas platform)

• Mondays & Wednesdays 1:30 - 2:30 PM

ACADEMIC AREAS: Modern France, Gender


Tobin Hansen

Tobin Hansen

Info to be added


Kevin Hatfield

Kevin Hatfield

Adjunct Assistant Professor of History

 

Winter 2020 Office Hours

Tue/Thur 2:00-3:30pm in GSH 104

kevhat@uoregon.edu | 541-346-1977 | GSH 104

ACADEMIC AREAS: The American West, Basque Immigration and Community Formation


Christina Karns

Christina Karns

Instructor of Psychology

ckarns@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4261 | 179 Lewis Integrative Science Building


 

Shoshana Kerewsky

Shoshana Kerewsky

Senior Lecturer II in Counseling Psychology and Human Services

kerewsky@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2429 | 359 HEDCO Education Building 

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ethics, Professional Preparation, Diversity, International Service, Health Interventions, Supervision


Martin Klebes

Martin Klebes

Associate Professor

klebes@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2818 | 205 Friendly Hall

Spring 2020 Office Hours are by appointment only, please coordinate via email.


A picture of Nick Kohler

Nicholas Kohler

Professor in the Department of Geography

nicholas@uoregon.edu


Anne Kreps

Anne Kreps

Assistant Professor

akreps@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5984 | 346 Susan Campbell Hall

Office Hours: Wednesdays 1:30pm-3:30pm


Jeffrey Librett

Jeffrey Librett

Professor of German & Scandinavian
Director of Graduate Studies

jlibrett@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0649 | 327 Friendly Hall

Office Hours: Fall 2019: Monday: 12:00-2:00pm


Caroline Lundquist

Caroline Lundquist

Instructor of Philosophy

lundc@uoregon.edu | 310 Chapman Hall

Spring 2019 Office Hours: Monday 2:00 - 3:00 pm; and by appointment.

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ethics and Moral Theory, Ancient Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Phenomenology and Existentialism


dawn marlan

Dawn Marlan

Senior Career Lecturer in Comparative Literature

damarlan@uoregon.edu | 541-521-0890 | Villard Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: The novel from the 18th century-present (English, French, and German traditions), contemporary American fiction, modernism, the personal essay, aesthetics, psychoanalysis, cultural studies, visual culture


Galen Martin

Galen Martin

Sr. Instructor
Intenational Studies Undergraduate Prog. Dir.

gmartin@uoregon.edu | 541-346-9178 | 346 PLC

Office Hours: F19: Tu/W 4-5, or Friday by appointment


Allison McGuffie

Allison McGuffie

Faculty Fellow

mcguffie@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3965 | 329 PLC

Office Hours: Fall Term: Monday 4-5 PM, Wednesday 4-6 PM


Ian McNeely

Ian McNeely

Professor of History
Department Head of German and Scandinavian

imcneely@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4791 | 429 Friendly Hall

Office Hours: Fall 2019: TR 9:00-9:50 in 319 McKenzie


Lisa Munger

Lisa Munger

Info will be added

Spring 2020 Office Hours: (Office hours will be conducted via the Zoom platform)

Thursdays 11:00 - 12:00 PM or by appointment


John Nicols

John Nicols

Professor Emeritus of History and Classics

nic@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4817 | 366 McKenzie Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ancient History; Roman Law; Symmetrical and Asymmetrical Social Relations [e.g., patronage,  hospitium]; Cities and Civic Culture


Brendan O'Kelly

Brendan O'Kelly

Career Instructor

bokelly@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5935 | 206 PLC

Office Hours: Fall Term: Tuesday, Thursday 12:20-1:50pm


Dorothee Ostmeier

Dorothee Ostmeier

Professor of German, and Folklore and Public Culture

ostmeier@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4245 | 215 Friendly Hall

Office Hours: Fall 2019: Wednesay: 2:15-3:15pm and Thursday: 4:00-5:00pm and by appointment


Kim Parzuchowski

Kimberley Parzuchowski

Instructor of Philosophy

chowski@uoregon.edu

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ethics and Moral Theory, Philosophical Psychology, Aesthetics, American Pragmatism, Asian Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Phenomenology and Existentialism


Eric Pederson

Eric Pederson

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

epederso@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3900 | 375 Straub Hall

Office Hours: FALL Wednesdays 9:00-11:00AM


Chris Potter

Chris Potter

Courtesy Senior Research Associate

ctp@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4898 | 317 Willamette Hall


Stephen Rabe

Stephen G. Rabe

Ashbel Smith Professor of History (Emeritus)

srabe@uoregon.edu | 503-779-7971

ACADEMIC AREAS: U.S. Foreign Relations, U.S. Relations with Latin America, The United States since 1945, The American Experience in Vietnam & Iraq


Judith Raiskin

Judith Raiskin

Associate Professor of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

raiskin@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2566 | 321 Hendricks Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Post-colonial literature and cultural studies focusing on gender and comparative feminist theory; Caribbean; Disability Studies; LGBTQ studies; and sexuality


Alexandra Rempel

Alexandra Rempel

Assistant Professor of Environmental Design

arempel@uoregon.edu


Rachel Rodman

Info to be added

Spring 2020 Office Hours: (Office hours will be conducted via the Zoom platform, please reach out to rrodman@uoregon.edu for more details)

• Tuesdays & Thursdays at 2:00 PM & By appointment


Camisha Russell

Camisha Russell

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

camishar@uoregon.edu | 233 Susan Campbell Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Critical Philosophy of Race, Ethics (esp. Bioethics), African American Philosophy, Feminist Theory


Stephen Rust

Stephen Rust

Career Instructor

srust@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0058 | 239 PLC

Office Hours: Fall Term: Monday and Wednesday 12-1:30pm


Cheyney Ryan

Cheyney Ryan

Emeritus Professor of Philosophy and Law

cryan@uoregon.edu | 541-543-8448

ACADEMIC AREAS: Social and Political Philosophy; Philosophy of Law; Peace Studies and Philosophy of Conflict Resolution; Philosophy of Film


James Schombert

James Schombert

Professor of Physics

jschombe@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5214 | 461 Willamette Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Observational Cosmology


Steven Shankman

Steven Shankman

Distinguished Professor of English and Classics and UNESCO Chair in Transcultural Studies, Interreligious Dialogue, and Peace

shankman@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3997 | 110B Gerlinger Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Comparative Literature, The Classical Tradition in English and American Literature, The Eighteenth Century, History of Literary Theory


Jim Shephard

James Shephard

Courtesy Professor of Law

jshephar@uoregon.edu | 541-972-9795

ACADEMIC AREAS: Medieval History, Law, Legal History, Leadership and Problem Solving


Irum Shiekh

Irum Shiekh

Professor of Ethnic Studies

ishiekh@uoregon.edu

ACADEMIC AREAS: Asian American & Asian Diasporas, Arab and Muslims in the US, Wartime Emergencies & Aftermath, Palestinian Cinema, Documentary Production, Oral History, Race, Gender, Prison Industrial Complex, Immigration, Transnational Feminism, Muslim Women and Activism


Hollie Smith

Hollie Smith

Assistant Professor of Science and Environmental Communication

hollies@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0150 | 131 Franklin Bldg.


Gretchen Soderlund

Gretchen Soderlund

Associate Professor of Media History​​​​​​

gsoderlu@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8922 | 309A Allen Hall


Dave Sutherland

Dave Sutherland

Associate Professor of Earth Sciences

dsuth@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8753 | 204 Volcanology

ACADEMIC AREAS: Physical Oceanography, Ice-Ocean Interactions, Estuaries


Edgar Temam

Edgar Temam

CRES ProTem Instructor
Courtesy Postdoctoral Research Scholar

etemam@uoregon.edu | 541-338-8721 | Knight Law Bldg.


Nathan Tublitz

Nathan Tublitz

Professor of Biology

tublitz@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4510 | 109 Huestis Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Neuroscience, Behavior, Physiology, Invertebrate Neurobiology, Cell and Development Biology


Corbett Upton

Corbett Upton

Senior Lecturer of English

cupton@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3961 | 375 PLC


Charlotte Vaughn

Charlotte Vaughn

Instructor of Linguistics

cvaughn@uoregon.edu | 371 Straub Hall