Robert D. Clark Honors College
1293 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1293

Phone: 541-346-5414

Common Reading Program

The Clark Honors College values debate in the public space, and inaugurated its summer reading program in 2009. All incoming freshmen read an assigned book and participate in an online forum facilitated by CHC student leaders and faculty. Upon arriving on campus in the fall, students engage with the book through dialogue with their peers, guest speakers, and other enrichment opportunities. 

In 2009, CHC student Alex Goodell CHC ‘11 brought to the CHC an initiative to introduce incoming freshmen to debate in the public space. The CHC Common Reading program incorporates the reading of an assigned book with an online forum where students identify, discuss, and debate issues raised in the book. The class of 2013 found the forum’s discussion socially, personally, and academically effective: it helps to forge a sense of CHC community.

This summer, the CHC is pleased to present Richard J. Davidson's The Emotional Life of Your Brain. Incoming CHC freshmen will receive a complimentary copy at IntroDUCKtion in July, and are expected to read the text and contribute meaningfully to the online forum before New Student Orientation (NSO) in September.

 Grow with the conversation! Contribute to the Common Reading online discussion forum here.

2014 CHC Commencement

The 2014 commencement ceremony for the Robert D. Clark Honors College will take place on Sunday, June 15, 2014 at 4:00 p.m. in the Matthew Knight Arena on the University of Oregon campus.  Tickets are not required for admission.

Parking will be extremely limited, and shuttles running from Autzen Stadium to the Matthew Knight Arena will operate only on Monday, June 16, 2014 for the regular UO commencement.  Maps and parking locations can be found here.

Graduates and guests who use a wheelchair or who may have difficulty walking long distances are strongly encouraged to make use of our designated ADA parking area in the Columbia Garage (under the Ford Alumni Center) on 13th Avenue. The lot is designated in blue on the Commencement map.  Graduates and guests in wheelchairs or who are requesting seating accommodations should contact the Clark Honors College at 541-346-5414 or in order to arrange accommodations.

The CHC commencement ceremony will be videotaped.  If you would like to purchase a copy of the 2014 Commencement DVD, you may place your order. Payment ($10 for each DVD) is by credit card only.

2013-2014 Award Winners

The Robert D. Clark Honors College celebrates the achievements and contributions of faculty, staff and students recognized during the 2013-2014 academic year.  Congratulations to all!


Mark Carey, Associate Professor of History and CHC Associate Dean, received an Early Research Career Award, one of six winners of the 2013 UO Research Excellence Awards.

Roxann Prazniak, Associate Professor of History, and Kelly Sutherland, Assistant Professor of Biology, received Faculty Research Awards.


Paula Braswell, CHC Director of Admissions received the 2014 Martin Luther King, Jr. Award


Kimberly Lerner, a biology major, and Kyle Swartzlander, an art history major, received the UO Libraries Undergraduate Research Award in the Single-Term Paper Category.  Natalie Brezack, a psychology major, received the UO Libraries Undergraduate Research Award in the Thesis Category.

Three Clark Honors College students elected to Phi Beta Kappa were named Phi Beta Kappa Oregon Six:  Zoe Livelybrooks (an English major), Matthew Tanner (a double major in biochemistry and biology) and Marjorie Witt (double major in art history and English).

Andrew Lubash, a double major in political science and economics, is the first UO student to win the prestigious Harry S. Truman Scholarship in 22 years.

A total of nineteen Clark Honors College students received Centurion Awards, given annually to one hundred students from all classes for dedication and outstanding service as student leaders.  Being recognized as one of the top one hundered student leaders in a campus of 24,000 students is very significant.  Congratulations to:  Coleman Boyer (accounting), Kaitlyn Chock (humanities, journalism), Gavin Cronkrite (history), Mekhala Dissanayake (biochemistry), Kevin Frazier (economics), Aimee Fritsch (planning, public policy and management), Elizabeth Luh (economics, mathematics), Grace Mahoney (family and human services), Shahnaz Mooney (philosophy, environmental studies), Benjamin Nussbaumer (economics), Cassandra O'Hearn (planning, public policy and management), Dashiell Paulson (history, journalism), Anna Karvina Pidong (accounting), Micaela Russo (product design, Spanish), Claire Sakaguchi (material and product studies), Taylor Smith (English), Matthew Tofte (pre-business administration), Katherine Wight (pre-business administration), and Inessa Wurscher (international studies, Spanish).

Amy Jones, a double major in human physiology and biology, received the Ray Hawk Award which recognizes contributions to the university and potential for community leadership

Muhammad Khalifa, a double major in biochemistry and biology, received the Dean's Award for Service which recognizes seniors who have made exceptional contributions of service to the university community, fellow students, or the larger community. 

Matthew Miyamoto, a political science major, received the Opal R. Clark and Robert D. Clark Scholarship, for outstanding scholarship and leadership. The Scholarship is in honor of UO President Emeritus Robert D. Clark's wife, Opal, in recognition of her lifetime commitment to the University of Oregon.

Jan Raether, a geography major, received the Jim Buch Award which is presented annually to a junior who has demonstrated strong academic achievement and whose service has helped the UO build relationships with prospective and/or newly admitted students.

Cassandra Smith, who has not yet declared a major, received the John Moore Scholarship in recognition of her contribution to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) community at the UO.

David Swanson, a triple major in business administration, mathematics and economics, received the Golda Parker Wickham Scholarship.  First given in 1950 in honor of Golda P. Wickham, dean of women, the scholarship is awarded to a student who is outstanding academically and who has shown significant involvement in university activities.

Deborah Wang, a double major in human physiology and biology, received the Bess Templeton Cristman Award, given annually to the junior woman who best exemplifies the oustanding qualities of leadership, scholarship and service to others

Marika Weinstein, a senior majoring in planning, public policy and management, received the Wilson Cup for outstanding leadership and willingness to challenge conventional thought, stimulating awareness and fostering education in the areas of social and cultural issues.