All Faculty

When asked what one piece of advice they would give to an incoming student, our graduating seniors overwhelmingly responded—"Go To Office Hours!"

Faculty host open-door office hours every week, and their schedules are listed alongside their profiles, below. Most faculty are willing to set an individual appointment with you if you cannot come during the posted times.


Henry Alley

Henry Alley

Professor Emeritus of Literature

halley@uoregon.edu 

ACADEMIC AREAS: Contemporary American Fiction, Short Stories, George Eliot, Jane Austen, The Novel, Gay Men's Literature


Rebecca Altman

raltman@uoregon.edu | Chapman Hall 208

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Monday & Wednesday, 10:30-11:30am (drop-in) / 3:30-4:30pm (by appointment)


 

A.B. Assensoh

A.B. Assensoh


Monique Balbuena

Monique R. Balbuena

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Jewish Studies

balbuena@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2311 |

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Monday & Wednesday, 11:35am-12:35pm @ 313-A Villard

• Friday, 9-11 via Zoom

ACADEMIC AREAS: Comparative Literature and Jewish Studies, Sephardic Languages, Ladino, Poetry, French and Francophone Literatures, Latin American Studies


Dare Baldwin

Dare Baldwin

Professor of Psychology

baldwin@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4964 | Chapman 110

Winter 2022 Office Hours: 

• Wednesdays: 10am-12pm

Zoom link:  https://uoregon.zoom.us/j/99598935195?pwd=YU9oekViUnVwQXBLT2xySGg1bUpuZz09 (Links to an external site.)

Please email Professor Baldwin (baldwin@uoregon.edu) to schedule an appointment at least 24hr in advance. Drop-ins may be subject to a wait-time.

 

ACADEMIC AREAS: Knowledge Acquisition, Cognitive Science, Neuro-Behavioral Development


Corinne Bayerl

Corinne Bayerl

Senior Instructor of Comparative Literature

bayerl@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4058 | 412 Friendly Hall

Winter 2022 Office Hours

Monday, 2pm-5pm (by appointment via Zoom)

Friday, 12pm-1pm (Walk-in @ CHA 206) zoom link: https://uoregon.zoom.us/j/8832111163

For booking an appointment, use: https://calendly.com/dr-bayerl-office-hours

If you would like to meet me on another day and/ or time, please e-mail me at bayerl@uoregon.edu

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Early Modern theater; cross-cultural performances today; comedy and gender; cultural translation in the Early Modern world (Europe / Americas / Japan)  


Louise Bishop

Louise Bishop

Associate Professor Emeritus of Literature

lmbishop@uoregon.edu

ACADEMIC AREAS: Medieval Literature, especially Middle English literature; Medievalism


Klaree Boose

Klaree Boose

Pro Tempore Instructor of Anthropology

boose@uoregon.edu | Condon 273

ACADEMIC AREAS: Primate Socioecology, Socioendocrinology and Behavior, Human Behavior Collective Violence and Policing


Anita Chari

Greg Bothun

Professor of Physics

bigmoo@gmail.com | 541-346-2569 | 417 Willamette Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Properties of Galaxies, Observational Cosmology, Climate Change, Sustainable Energy


Marcel Brousseau

Marcel Brousseau

mbrousse@uoregon.edu

ACADEMIC AREAS: Latinx Literature, Native American Literatures, Latinx Studies, Native American Studies, Latinx Comics, Latinx Policy, Border Literatures, Travel Writing, Narrative and Cartography, Writing Studies, Sports Studies


Anna Carroll

Anna Carroll

Career Instructor

acarroll@uoregon.edu | 541-346-1518 | 301H Tykeson Hall

Office Hours: Fall term: WF 2:00-3:30 p.m.


Ulrick Casimir

Ulrick Casimir

Career Instructor

ucasimir@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3977 | 223 PLC

 


David Chamberlain

David Chamberlain

Career Instructor

davidc@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5071 | 367 Susan Campbell Hall


Liska Chan

Liska Chan

Associate Professor Landscape Architecture

chan@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2899 | 323 Chapman Hall

Winter 2022 Office Hours: Office hours are @ 211 Lawrence Hall

Wednesday, 10-12pm

Thursday, 1-3pm

Drop-in or by appointment. Appointments can be made by Calendly. https://calendly.com/liskachan

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Invisible landscapes, mapping, land art, landscape perception


Dayna Chatman

Dayna Chatman

Assistant Professor

dchatman@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3594 | 147 Franklin


Mai-Lin Cheng

Mai-Lin Cheng

Associate Professor of Literature

cheng@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0123 | 306 Chapman Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Poetry and Prose of the British Romantic Period, Travel Writing, Gender and Genre, Composition


Suzanne Clark

Suzanne Clark

Professor Emerita of English and Comparative Literature

sclark@uoregon.edu

Fall 2021 Office Hours:

Thursdays, 2-4pm @ CHA 101

ACADEMIC AREAS: Modernist Literature, Culture and Film, Rhetoric, Social Movements and Gender Roles, Literature, Film, and Environment


Amy Connolly

Amy Connolly

Instructor of Biology

amyc@uoregon.edu | 73 Klamath Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Genetics, Cell Biology, Cell Division: Mitosis and Meiosis, Embryo Development, Biochemistry


James Crosswhite

James Crosswhite

Professor

jcross@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3956 | 258 PLC

 


Kenneth Doxsee

Ken Doxsee

Professor of Chemistry

doxsee@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4628 | 432 Lewis Integrative Sciences Building

ACADEMIC AREAS: Chemistry, Green Chemistry, Sustainability, Chemical Education


Nicole Dudukovic

Nicole Dudukovic

Senior Instructor of Psychology 

Director, Neuroscience Major

ndudukov@uoregon.edu | 541-346-7225 | Chapman 110

*Professor Dudukovic is on sabbatical for the 2021-22 academic year.

ACADEMIC AREAS:  Human Memory, Cognitive Neuroscience


A picture of Noah Eber-Schmid

Noah R. Eber-Schmid

Faculty Fellow in Political Science

neschmid@uoregon.edu | 815 PLC

ACADEMIC AREAS: Democratic Theory, Anglo-American Political Thought, Contemporary Political Theory, Extremism, Citizenship, History of Political Thought


Stephen Fickas

Stephen Fickas

Professor of Computer and Information Science

fickas@cs.uoregon.edu | 541-346-3964 | 309 Deschutes Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Data Science, Internet of Things, Software Engineering


Joseph Fracchia

Joseph Fracchia

Professor Emeritus of History

fracchia@uoregon.edu 

ACADEMIC AREAS: German Social and Intellectual History, Historical Theory, Philosophy of History, History of Philosophy


Daphne Gallagher

Daphne Gallagher

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies/Senior Lecturer of Anthropology 

daphne@uoregon.edu | (541) 346-5122 | 321 Chapman Hall

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Wednesdays 4:00-5:00pm, (drop-in)

• Tuesdays 1:00-3:00pm, Wednesdays 3:00-4:00pm (drop-in or by appointment)

*If you are unable to meet during these scheduled hours, please email Daphne to set up an appointment.

Appointments during scheduled office hours can be made at https://tinyurl.com/DGStudentHours. During mixed appointment/drop-in hours, students with appointments will have priority. 

Zoom link: https://uoregon.zoom.us/j/956053479?pwd=Z3plNWtHcTJaZUM0dHJYcGFYbEFJdz09

ACADEMIC AREAS: Archaeology, Ethnobotany, Precolonial African History, Agrarian History


Shabnam Akhtari

Alison Gash

Associate Professor

gash@uoregon.edu | Chapman Hall 105

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Mondays, 9-10:30am & 3:30-6pm (via Zoom)

Please email to set up appointment. Gash@uoregon.edu, zoom link. https://uoregon.zoom.us/j/96351524725


 

Emily Gilkey

Emily Gilkey

Instructor of History

egilkey2@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3727 | 340X McKenzie Hall 

ACADEMIC AREAS: Modern France, Gender


Melissa Graboyes

Melissa Graboyes

Assistant Professor of African & Medical History

graboyes@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3894 | 326 Chapman Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Colonial and Postcolonial African History, Medical History, History of Science, Medical Ethics, Global Health


Tobin Hansen

Tobin Hansen

Pro Tem Instructor, Social Science

 


Kevin Hatfield

Kevin Hatfield

Adjunct Assistant Professor of History

kevhat@uoregon.edu | 541-346-1977 | GSH 104

ACADEMIC AREAS: The American West, Basque Immigration and Community Formation


Samantha Hopkins

Samantha Hopkins

Professor of Earth Sciences

shopkins@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5976 | 105 Chapman Hall

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Monday, 3:30-4:30pm (drop-in or by appointment

• Thursday, 9-10am (by appointment)

On Microsoft Teams; Students can send a chat message on Teams to connect.

ACADEMIC AREAS: Environmental Change, Mammalian Evolution


Trond Jacobsen

Trond Jacobsen

Director of Forensics and Instructor of Information Science

trond@uoregon.edu | 541-600-0762 | Anstett 198D

Fall 2021 Office Hours:

• Thursday 9:30-11:30

• Thursday 2:15-4:30 (Ending at 3:15 every other Thursday)

• Friday 12:00-2:00

And by appointment

The link to my Zoom office is:

https://uoregon.zoom.us/j/5255635155?pwd=T3hyc2taR2Z0RjVRRnlpTGVKQ1Z4dz09

ACADEMIC AREAS: Speech and Debate, Scholarly Communication Networks, Political Communication, Legal Proceedings


Christina Karns

Christina Karns

Instructor of Psychology

ckarns@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4261 | 179 Lewis Integrative Science Building


 

Shoshana Kerewsky

Shoshana Kerewsky

Senior Lecturer II in Counseling Psychology and Human Services (retired)

kerewsky@uoregon.edu | 541-852-1900 

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ethics, Professional Preparation, Diversity, International Service, Health Interventions, Supervision


Martin Klebes

Martin Klebes

Associate Professor

klebes@uoregon.edu | 541-346-2818 | 205 Friendly Hall

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Monday & Wednesday, 9-9:45am (by appointment) Zoom meetings possible upon request.


A picture of Nick Kohler

Nicholas Kohler

Professor in the Department of Geography

nicholas@uoregon.edu


Anne Kreps

Anne Kreps

Assistant Professor

akreps@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5984 | 346 Susan Campbell Hall

 


Jeffrey Librett

Jeffrey Librett

Professor of German & Scandinavian
Director of Graduate Studies

jlibrett@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0649 | 327 Friendly Hall

 


Caroline Lundquist

Caroline Lundquist

Instructor of Philosophy

lundc@uoregon.edu | 310 Chapman Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ethics and Moral Theory, Ancient Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Phenomenology and Existentialism


Galen Martin

Galen Martin

Sr. Instructor
Intenational Studies Undergraduate Prog. Dir.

gmartin@uoregon.edu | 541-346-9178 | 346 PLC

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Wednesday & Thursday, 9:30am-10:30am (via canvas or zoom)

 


Allison McGuffie

Allison McGuffie

Faculty Fellow

mcguffie@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3965 | 329 PLC


Ian McNeely

Ian McNeely

Professor of History
Department Head of German and Scandinavian

imcneely@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4791 | 429 Friendly Hall

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Monday - Friday, 9am-12pm (In-person or via Zoom)

Please sign up here: https://bit.ly/3fNfWDY . In person appointments held at FR 114E.

RESEARCH INTERESTS: German history, European history, world history, history of knowledge


Brian McWhorter

Brian McWhorter

Professor of Music

bjm@uoregon.edu | Chapman 105

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Mondays, 9-11a, by appt: https://uo.campus.eab.com/pal/Q8LrGewQdB

• Wednesdays, 9-11a, drop-in: https://uoregon.zoom.us/my/mcwhorter


Michael Moffitt

Michael Moffitt

Philip H. Knight Chair in Law and Professor of Law

mmoffitt@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0506 | Knight Law Building Office #409L

ACADEMIC AREAS: Negotiation, Mediation, Conflict Resolution

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

Wednesday, 12-2pm (via zoom)

Thursday, 9-11am (via zoom)

Signup at https://tinyurl.com/mmoffittUO. In-person office hours per request, please email to set this up.

 

 


Barbara Mossberg

Barbara Mossberg

Professor of Practice in Literature

bmossber@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8752 | 326 Chapman Hall

Fall 2021 Office Hours:

• Tuesday, 10am-12pm @ CHA 310

• Thursday, (zoom) 1-2:30pm - Please email bmossber@uoregon.edu, Subject Head "Request for Zoom Appointment,"

Zoom Scheduled Meetings: If you need a Zoom consult and the Thursday time does not work for you, please email bmossber@uoregon.edu (Subject Head: Request for Zoom Meeting) times that do and an appointment will be scheduled. You will be notified on email the time and link. 

In Person Scheduled Appointment: Please email bmossber@uoregon.edu (Subject Head: Request for Appointment), with subject of meeting and best times for you to meet. You will receive a reply to work out a time and place to meet. 

 

Email bmossber@uoregon.edu

Zoom links for office hours are available on the CHC Canvas site.

ACADEMIC AREAS: Poetry, Leadership, Drama, Humanities Advocacy, Chaos Theory, Deep Ecology, Eco Lit and Cultural History, American/British Postcolonial and Transatlantic Literature, Women’s Literature, American Studies, Creativity Across Disciplines


Lisa Munger

Lisa Munger

Career Instructor

lmunger4@uoregon.edu | 328 Chapman Hall

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

Monday, 2:30-4:30pm, Drop-in @ CHA 328

• Thursday, (zoom) 10am-12pm (Drop-in) 

*Or email lmunger4@uoregon.edu to schedule an appointment.

Zoom links: https://uoregon.zoom.us/my/lmunger


John Nicols

John Nicols

Professor Emeritus of History and Classics

nic@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4817 | 366 McKenzie Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ancient History; Roman Law; Symmetrical and Asymmetrical Social Relations [e.g., patronage,  hospitium]; Cities and Civic Culture


Brendan O'Kelly

Brendan O'Kelly

Career Instructor

bokelly@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5935 | 206 PLC


Dorothee Ostmeier

Dorothee Ostmeier

Professor of German, and Folklore and Public Culture

ostmeier@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4245 | 215 Friendly Hall

 


Kim Parzuchowski

Kimberley Parzuchowski

Instructor of Philosophy

chowski@uoregon.edu

ACADEMIC AREAS: Ethics and Moral Theory, Philosophical Psychology, Aesthetics, American Pragmatism, Asian Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Phenomenology and Existentialism


Carol Paty

Carol Paty

Associate Dean of Faculty | Professor of Earth Sciences

cpaty@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4786 | Chapman, 110 - Volcanology 120

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

Monday, 9-10am (Drop-in via Zoom)Tuesday, 11-12om (Drop-in or by appointment via Zoom)

Zoom link: https://uoregon.zoom.us/j/96922201732?pwd=R0FTeTJLTTRSLzQ5dnV4REc4ZVV2QT09

 

 

Off schedule:

Students who cannot make these hours may write and schedule an appointment directly with Dr. Paty (cpaty@uoregon.edu)

ACADEMIC AREAS: Planetary Science, Space Physics, Planetary Interiors, Astrobiology

 


Eric Pederson

Eric Pederson

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

epederso@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3900 | 375 Straub Hall

 


Chris Potter

Chris Potter

Courtesy Senior Research Associate

ctp@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4898 | 317 Willamette Hall


Roxann Prazniak

Roxann Prazniak

Professor of History

prazniak@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3345 | 328 Chapman Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: History of China and Eurasia, Emergence of Modernity, Transcultural Studies


Stephen Rabe

Stephen G. Rabe

Ashbel Smith Professor of History (Emeritus)

srabe@uoregon.edu | 503-779-7971

ACADEMIC AREAS: U.S. Foreign Relations, U.S. Relations with Latin America, The United States since 1945, The American Experience in Vietnam & Iraq


Elizabeth Raisanen

Elizabeth Raisanen

Assistant Dean of Advising & Strategic Partnerships and Instructor of Literature

raisanen@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4437 | 324 Chapman Hall

Winter 2022 Zoom Office Hours:

• Wednesdays, 4:00 – 6:00 pm

• Fridays, 1:00 - 3:00 pm

Email raisanen@uoregon.edu

 

ACADEMIC AREAS: Women Writers of the British Romantic Period, Romantic Drama, Digital Humanities


Alexandra Rempel

Alexandra Rempel

Assistant Professor of Environmental Design

arempel@uoregon.edu


Rachel Rodman

Info to be added


Stephen Rust

Stephen Rust

Career Instructor

srust@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0058 | 239 PLC


Cheyney Ryan

Cheyney Ryan

Emeritus Professor of Philosophy and Law

cryan@uoregon.edu | 541-543-8448

ACADEMIC AREAS: Social and Political Philosophy; Philosophy of Law; Peace Studies and Philosophy of Conflict Resolution; Philosophy of Film


James Schombert

James Schombert

Professor of Physics

jschombe@uoregon.edu | 541-346-5214 | 461 Willamette Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Observational Cosmology


Steven Shankman

Steven Shankman

Distinguished Professor of English and Classics and UNESCO Chair in Transcultural Studies, Interreligious Dialogue, and Peace

shankman@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3997 | 110B Gerlinger Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Comparative Literature, The Classical Tradition in English and American Literature, The Eighteenth Century, History of Literary Theory


Jim Shephard

James Shephard

Courtesy Professor of Law

jshephar@uoregon.edu | 541-972-9795

ACADEMIC AREAS: Medieval History, Law, Legal History, Leadership and Problem Solving


Irum Shiekh

Irum Shiekh

Professor of Ethnic Studies

ishiekh@uoregon.edu

ACADEMIC AREAS: Asian American & Asian Diasporas, Arab and Muslims in the US, Wartime Emergencies & Aftermath, Palestinian Cinema, Documentary Production, Oral History, Race, Gender, Prison Industrial Complex, Immigration, Transnational Feminism, Muslim Women and Activism


Casey Shoop

Casey Shoop

Senior Instructor of Literature

cshoop@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8840 | 323 Chapman Hall

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Wednesday & Friday, 12-2 (via zoom)

zoom link: https://uoregon.zoom.us/j/91867927278

ACADEMIC AREAS: 19th and 20th Century American Literature; Critical Theory; Urban Theory; Literature and Culture of California; Film Studies


Hollie Smith

Hollie Smith

Assistant Professor of Science and Environmental Communication

hollies@uoregon.edu | 541-346-0150 | 131 Franklin Bldg.


Gretchen Soderlund

Gretchen Soderlund

Associate Professor of Media History​​​​​​

gsoderlu@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8922 | 309A Allen Hall


Carol Stabile

Carol Stabile

Professor; Clark Honors College Dean

cstabile@uoregon.edu | 541-221-5492 | 108 Chapman Hall

Winter 2022 Office Hours:

• Wednesday, 3:00-5:00pm (Zoom or In-person)

 


Dave Sutherland

Dave Sutherland

Associate Professor of Earth Sciences

dsuth@uoregon.edu | 541-346-8753 | 204 Volcanology

ACADEMIC AREAS: Physical Oceanography, Ice-Ocean Interactions, Estuaries


Edgar Temam

Edgar Temam

CRES ProTem Instructor
Courtesy Postdoctoral Research Scholar

etemam@uoregon.edu | 541-338-8721 | Knight Law Bldg.


Nathan Tublitz

Nathan Tublitz

Professor of Biology

tublitz@uoregon.edu | 541-346-4510 | 109 Huestis Hall

ACADEMIC AREAS: Neuroscience, Behavior, Physiology, Invertebrate Neurobiology, Cell and Development Biology


Corbett Upton

Corbett Upton

Senior Lecturer of English

cupton@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3961 | 375 PLC


Charlotte Vaughn

Charlotte Vaughn

Instructor

cvaughn@uoregon.edu | 541-346-3993 | 371 Straub Hall

*Charlotte Vaughn is on leave for the 2020-21 academic year

https://linguistics.uoregon.edu/profile/cvaughn